Philanthropic Supporters

The Copeland Foundation
The Ian Potter Foundation
The Myer Foundation

Corporate Supporters

Marand Precision Engineering
Mitsubishi Australia

Supporting Organisations

Defence Science & Technology
La Trobe University, Centre for Materials & Surface Science
The University of Melbourne



The GMT project has attracted the support of community leaders, educators, and astronomers who have expressed enthusiasm for the project. We are very grateful for their support and advice.

  • Professor Rob Adams AM, Director of Design and Culture, City of Melbourne
  • Professor Weston Bate OAM, Historian, Past President Victorian Historical Society
  • Professor Robin Batterham AO, President Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, Kernot Professor of Engineering, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Harvey Butcher, Director, Research School of Astronomy, Australian National University
  • The Honourable John Cain, Former Premier of Victoria
  • Doctor Gloria Clifton, Senior Curator, Royal Observatory, Greenwich
  • Professor Warwick Couch, Centre for Astrophysics and Supercomputing, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Professor Glyn Davis AC, Vice Chancellor, University of Melbourne
  • Professor David de Kretser AC, Governor of Victoria
  • Professor Peter Doherty AC, Department of Microbiology and Immunology, University of Melbourne
  • Robert Doyle, Lord Mayor of the City of Melbourne
  • Doctor Alan Finkel AM, Chancellor Monash University
  • Peter Hiscock AM, Chair Puffing Billy Society, former CEO Sovereign Hill Museums Association
  • Doctor Gael Jennings, Board Member Museum Victoria
  • The Honourable Dr Barry Jones, Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne
  • The Honourable Jeffrey Kennett AC, Former Premier of Victoria
  • John Landy AC, CVO, MBE, former Governor of Victoria
  • Professor John Lattanzio, Centre for Stellar and Planetary Astrophysics, School of Mathematical Sciences Monash University
  • Bill Mackey, Deputy Chief Executive, Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering
  • Professor Sir Gustav Nossal, Professor Emeritus, Department of Pathology, University of Melbourne
  • Lord Rosse, Birr Castle, Ireland
  • Noel Turnbull, Adjunct Professor, School of Media and Communications, RMIT University
  • Professor Rachel Webster, School of Physics, University of Melbourne
  • Doctor John Zillman AO, University of Melbourne, former Director Bureau of Meteorology